Costa Rica Day 3 – Drake Bay

This morning we woke up around 6:00 am (yes, David got up before 8:00am on vacation). We had breakfast at the “bed and breakfast” which was FABULOUS! Miguel, the owner, made the most amazing food! He was originally from Madrid, Spain. He had the coolest motel due to the people that were there. I’ll get into that more later.

On to day three. This was our first day of true adventures. We went snorkeling!! I enjoy snorkeling, but I don’t think David had too much fun…I think it was too much work for him 🙂

We went to Cano Island to snorkel, so it was a forty-five minute boat ride out. Totally worth it.

The scenery in Costa Rica is absolutely beautiful! It’s calming to just walk outside, even to be inside. Everything there is open air with huge windows and there isn’t a bad view insight.

The water and sky are just as beautiful as the land and vegetable. They are so breathe taking they leave me awestruck.

And one of the most amazing things/once in a life time experiences we had was getting to see WHALES!!

We got to see the Humpback whales flip, flop, splash, and just chill. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had never seen a whale in real life until then.

They really do have humps and it’s so cool! That’s pretty much all we got to see of them and their tails of course as they went under.

After snapping tons of pictures of the whales (yes, there were more than ONE!!!) we jumped out to snorkel.

Here’s Tom and Sarah in the water enjoying the beauty. Don’t you just love the orange life vests??

David and I took an up-close and personal snorkeling picture. Very flattering, I must say. I love my smooshed mouth due to the mask and David’s squinty eyes.

After an hour or so of snorkeling we headed up to the beach to eat lunch and wander around.

During our break there was this wonderfully colorful canoe that I just had to take a picture of to remember.

While wandering around and signing in at the ranger station (top left in the background) we saw this rusted gas tank. I love the speedo men in the background, HAHA! So European.

There was a huge driftwood tree that I really wanted to take back with us, but I didn’t think I could fit it in my backpack…And you can’t take things off of the preserved areas like this…Oh well. Maybe I can make some driftwood at some point.

Along our treck we found some rocks jetting out…We wanted to go out to the end, but had to head back to eat lunch, YUM!

Oh, side note. The bathrooms there were sketchy!! It was a hole with a toilet seat on top of it and stalls of course. However, there was no light (just a little from the top) and you dump sawdust on top of the toilet paper into the hole instead of flushing. Seeing as you just dump sawdust on top there were MANY bugs crawling in there with you as well. Including a HUGE SPIDER!! Needless to say I was in and out of there as fast as I could be. **Shutter**

After we ate lunch we headed on another hike around the island and this time we went upward instead of down to the beach.

We followed the stairs up and found something interesting. We had originally started to follow the stairs in hunt of a waterfall, which we heard, but never saw. Instead we kept going and found a cell phone tower. Technology is even overtaking the remote islands….what kind of world are we in??? I guess there is no escaping it anywhere.

On the way up and down the stair trail I enjoyed taking some pictures of God’s gifts to us.

After our treck we headed back out for more snorkeling!

Check out how people get into the boats. Yes. That is how we got in and out of all of the boats in Drake Bay. Including arriving and leaving with our luggage…It was interesting.

As we headed out I felt that we needed a picture of the island.

Look at all those trees!! I miss them. I wish I could have taken them home with me, along with the rain.

Unfortunately, the camera died, because I forgot to charge it since we left Austin, oops…I missed getting to take pictures of the dolphins that our awesome boat driver got to follow us. It was an amazing experience! The dolphins were playing in the boat’s wake.

I was able to charge the camera when we made it back to our room and take a picture of the beautiful scape from our porch.

We were woken up to howler monkeys that were hangout in those trees this day. It was amazing! I would love a howler monkey alarm clock everyday. Being in nature is so awe inspiring. I read every afternoon on the hammock and in the rain….So peaceful. David napped instead of reading, but I think that’s what he needs when he gets up before 8:00am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

