Costa Rica Day 4 – Drake Bay

On day four we went hiking out in trails. We ended up going with four other people from our hotel. They were from the Netherlands. That is something we loved about our hotel; there were so many people at our hotel from different countries. We got to hear so many different languages, which is so fun!

Here are some wonderful pictures of our hiking excursion. This is the one of the most ecologically diverse areas in the world. We hiked at Corcovado National Park. And the whole time I kept thinking about my father and his love of nature. I know he would have thoroughly enjoyed this part of our trip. I hope sometime soon he will get to go hiking in a rainforest like we did.

Here’s Tom, Sarah, me, and David. Don’t you LOVE the rubber boots?!?!

Shortly after we began our hike we came across an “air strip.” Isn’t it surreal? I love how there’s one tree all along by the water.

As we were walking up to the Ranger Station a plan flew in…

Unfortunately, a loud, out of control, American family stepped off of it…This is why Americans get a bad wrap….But I think the Netherlanders who were with us we okay with us most the time at least.

This is the most poisonous land snake in Costa Rica….Our guide decided to poke it with a stick. I was very thankful that I had tall rubber boots on at this time, because he said it can jump and rather far….

On our hike we go out of the rainforest and onto the beach.

It’s simply breathtaking. Being in Costa Rica made me just want to sit outside and read all day long. It’s just amazing!

To go along with the crazy reptile theme we also ran into an alligator sunning himself. He was across the stream, but it wasn’t a very wide stream. Especially considering the day before we had seen the most poisonous snake in Costa Rica (it was a water snake, that they don’t have an anti-venom for…).

We also saw some pigs. They came REALLY close. We had to stand completely still so we didn’t scare them. The pigs had a scout that would look out for danger and make this clicking noise for them to run away to safety.

Here’s another picture of the pigs. Aren’t they close? Our guide said he had never been this close to them before. So cool!

While we were looking at the piggies we saw some birds as well.

Monkey! We saw all four kinds of monkeys. YEA! Unfortunately I do not have clear pictures of most of them, because they were too high up in the trees… 😦 I wanted to bring one home, but again I think they frown on that.

At the end of our day our guide found a large…Tapir, I think…It’s been too long I can’t exactly remember, but it was HUGE.

As we were heading back to Drake Bay we came across another humpback whale.

So cool!

We also came across a pirate ship….ARGH!

After the hike we took a picture with our guide. He was pretty awesome.

We were really good with taking group shots this day, which is unfortunate, because we were a little dirty. I think that just shows how much fun we had.

I was pretty good this day at taking some pictures of our motel.

We stayed at the cabin in the back (it was a two sided cabin, Tom and Sarah and the front and David and I had the back). We were back by the chicken coupes. Our view was FABULOUS!

Here’s part of the view of the lovely trees. The holler monkeys were right out there multiple times and woke us up 🙂

Here’s more of the view. Isn’t it amazing! It’s like Jurassic Park!! I guess that may have to do with the fact that Jurassic Park was suppose to be down there.

I really wish I would have written down our meals. Miguel made some of the best food I’ve ever had!! So tasty! At dinner we meet people from all over the world; Netherlands, France, Spain, and US. The last night we were there we met a couple that lived in Oklahoma, but were originally from Texas, small would. I loved getting to be around all kinds of different languages. I wish we had more of that in the US in public places.

Before dinner we played BS with some girls from France. It was really funny, because we were teaching them the game and they knew of it from “How to Loose a Guy in Ten Days.” Oh pop culture.

Leave a Reply

